True Life: I wrote a book

A whole lot has happened since my last blog post. First, I started a new job. Second, I did the craziest thing I have ever done hands down: booked a flight to London for this fall.

Third, I did the second craziest thing I ever done: I wrote and published my first e-book, Win The Internet: Best Practices for Twitter and Facebook!

This book is geared towards people who want to use social media for their business or organization, but aren’t sure where to start…I wanted to do a little something for the beginners. It focuses on the basics of the two platforms and makes a great gift for a relative who just started a business or an intern who wants to learn new skills.

It is available on Amazon for $2.99. It is available on Kindle, so if you don’t have a kindle be sure to download the Kindle app so you can read the book.

And now, some background:

I started writing this book last year. I had lost a big consulting client due to them wanting to hire a full time person in their San Francisco office and was officially unemployed.  I can’t really explain why, but one night I sat in front of my MacBook…and just started writing.

It took me about three and a half weeks to write. I did some close re-reading and editing…and then I sat on it for months. I knew I wanted to publish it, but I just didn’t know when was the right time or how it would be received.

Then, a few weeks ago, one of my Twitter followers tweeted: “Pick that baby back up, whatever that baby may be.”

I knew she was talking to me. I knew my baby was this book I had been sitting on. 

The following week, I gave my book one last look…and I pressed “publish.”And I’m really glad I did.

I know this blog is mostly about social media, but I feel like there was a lesson there. I learned a lot during this process, but one of the biggest lessons is that sometimes, you have to take the leap. You take the leap and you trust yourself and your abilities. You can only win.

So, TL;DR: Buy my book. Write a review. Tell your friends, your aunties, your interns, your boo. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

